Spanish FTW!

Standard

I’ve been participating in a few Spanish Practice Groups since last summer.  I love them for the  language practice of course, but  more importantly, for the social interaction with kindred spirits interested in travel and other cultures.

But I’ve been at my sister’s house this past month, and I’ve really missed these weekly get-togethers.

I can’t just sit around by myself all the time, so I spent some time surfing through the usual social sites to get the lay of the land.  [*NOTE* This is not my city of choice, validated by the lack of anything interesting to do around here!]

This town I’m in has a much different vibe, not the community feel that I’m used to.  I’m having to work really hard to find any kind of social interaction around here.  Especially not having a car in a city with no public transportation options!

The only thing I’ve been able to find so far is a brand new Spanish Conversation Group.  I signed up for their next meeting, even though there was no way I could actually get there.  I decided to post on their activity webpage, asking if there was anyone who would be willing to carpool with “unknown me”.

Didn’t get a response until one hour before the start time.  Luckily I was all ready to go, just in case.  Very excited, I jumped at “random dude’s” generosity, and caught a ride with him over to the Mexican restaurant, chatting non-stop like the crazy person I am!

For a brand new group (this was their 2nd meeting), I was very surprised to see 15 people slowly wander in!  Long story short – I got to meet all these new people, practiced my dwindling Spanish, enjoyed a Negra Modelo, got a tummy ache off too much chips & salsa, and generally had a fabulous time!  What I thought would be a quick 1 hour “get to know you” session, turned into 3 hours of entertaining conversation.

I love meeting people!

About Tia

I'm a world hobo and have been on the move since Sept 2009! I'm learning LOTS about myself, and maybe... someday... I'll have me all figured out. ;) This blog is an attempt at making sense of all the crazy things in my head. Me = traveler, vegan, minimalist, beer snob, Starbucks-aholic. Hi! *waves*

Leave a Reply

