Who doesn’t love a good parade?

Standard

Gotta say…I love a good parade.  Especially for St. Patrick’s Day!  I’ve celebrated in five different cities so far.  I look forward to experiencing other celebrations in cities around the world….like Ireland!

The amazing parade floats, drinking in public, and avoiding the flying cabbage on the streets of New Orleans is fun times!  My favorite, so far, has been the giant parade in Denver, one of the biggest celebrations in the US.  I also love small town parades, like in Fort Collins, which are all about the community.  Last year was definitely the weirdest, being in another country.  Chile obviously doesn’t celebrate the holiday, or even understand what the big deal is.  Gotta love it!  🙂

This year’s parade time found me in Colorado Springs.  Definitely a different experience.  I got to enjoy the festivities with a sister and brother who live here, as well as with a new friend I’ve made.  The “holiday vibe” was very different here.  The police presence was pretty huge (this town has violent tendencies).  The parade was more of a big advertisement opportunity, rather than the community participation that I prefer to see.

Usually, I would hit up an Irish pub with friends, but today I ended up at a Jamaican restaurant for lunch, with a Red Stripe in my hand instead of a Guinness.  But that’s okay, it’s all good.  I’ll save the Irish Stout for the 17th!

Here’s a couple snapshots I took today with my phone:

Bagpipers marching in the Springs parade

Llamas! And baby llamas!!!

Quite a big difference from last year.  No parades, of course, but I did find an Expat pub, in Santiago, Chile, that was celebrating the holiday.  Had a fabulous time and ended up meeting a ton of amazing people, both expat and local.  Since I don’t have many pics, I’ll throw in some pictures from last year’s celebration at California Cantina ….

Meeting new friends from around the world...

...and then teaching them how to drink "Irish Car Bombs"!

Slainte and bottoms up!

”]”]

Can’t wait to see where I am next year!  Do you have a favorite St. Patrick’s Day location or tradition?  Share!

About Tia

I'm a world hobo and have been on the move since Sept 2009! I'm learning LOTS about myself, and maybe... someday... I'll have me all figured out. ;) This blog is an attempt at making sense of all the crazy things in my head. Me = traveler, vegan, minimalist, beer snob, Starbucks-aholic. Hi! *waves*

2 responses »

  1. St. Pat’s is a HUGE deal here in Rolla, home of Missouri S&T. For some reason, 104 years ago, the Uni adopted St. Pat as their patron saint of engineers. St. Pat’s is a weeklong celebration the week before St. Paddy’s day. Giant shillelaghs slaughter hapless rubber snakes, the streets of downtown Rolla are mopped green, copious amounts of green beer flows freely, and a super-awesome, super-local parade. This year there were even camels in the parade. Right? WTF do camels have to do with St. Pat’s? Who knows, but they were cool as hell! This year’s parade theme was classic video games. Our college radio station did Lemmings (I was one of ’em ;). It was an absolute BLAST!

    Basically, since I’m of Irish descent, I’ve always felt a connection to Ireland. But St Pat’s always seemed to be amateur drinking night. Until I became a student here. Now I look forward to it every year.

    • Were they green camels?? LOL 🙂 St. Pat’s can definitely be called amateur drinking night at times, so it makes a big difference when you can find a true celebration. Glad you found one. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

